By Uthman  Siraja           

A nine-man Local Government Election Petition Tribunal has been constituted by the Chief Judge of Niger State, Justice Aliyu Mohammed Mayaki with stern warning to avoid act that will lead them into compromise.  

Speaking at the inauguration of members of the tribunal at the High court complex in Minna, yesterday, Justice Aliyu Mayaki urged them to be fair and just in given all parties the deserving attention.                                    

He said their appointment into this onerous task was a tedious one, he therefore urged them to shun any act that may influence their decision in the discharge of their responsibility at the tribunal.

Justice Mayaki said the petitioners that may file their petitions before the tribunal should be given the required attention “Endeavour to listen to the two parties so that at the end you will make your decision.”  He said the petitioners may be represented by their respective counsels stressing that they should be firm and focused in arriving at a decision in their proceedings, stressing that some of the counsels may look for a way of delaying the proceedings through unnecessary applications; tribunal members should therefore always see themselves in firm control of their tribunal.                

He told them to always make consultation in any matter that may prove difficult to them,                 urging them to carry out their assignment within the ambit of the electoral act and the provision of the Constitution of the land.     

Speaking earlier, the commissioner of Justice and Attorney General of Niger State, Barr. Nasara Dan Malam commended the Chief Judge for appointing the members to carry out the assignment at this point in time assuring that the ministry will give the panel the necessary support that will make them do their duty effectively. He requested the Chief Judge to forward to his office whatever is required to make them feel comfortable in the discharge of their duty                                         

The nine-member tribunal has Hassan Mohammed of Suleja Chief Magistrate as chairman of Zone A. Magistrate Bawa, is to serve as Chairman, Zone B, while Mal. Nasir Mu’azu of Minna Chief Magistrate Court No1. is to preside over Zone C.                        

Other members of the Tribunal include Sa’adatu A. Gambo and Mal Abubakar Dauda as members for Zone A. Hajiya Hauwa Baba Yusuf and Mal. Mohamed S. Dogara are to serve as members for Zone B. While Abdulrahaman Idris and Alkali Suleiman M. Ibrahim to serve as members for Zone C.